h1

To My Friends From the Island Nation of Mauritius

March 22, 2012

Mauritius Coat of Arms

To My Friends From the Island Nation of Mauritius:

One of the interesting features of the software used to manage my blog is seeing where the people who view my blog are from, not exactly where, but the country.  So far, people from over 40 counties have read it.  One of the more surprising is the island nation of Mauritius.  Not that there is any reason they should not read it, more surprising that they found it in the first place. So, this blog is for my new friends from Mauritius.

I did not know much about your home until I looked it up.  The only real thing I knew – it was the home of the now extinct dodo bird.  For those out there, like me, unfamiliar with Mauritius, here are some interesting, albeit basic facts:

  • Mauritius lies about 540 miles east of Madagascar in the Indian Ocean.
  • The island nation is part of the Mascarenhas Archipelago.
  • The major islands are Mauritius, Cargados Carajos, Rodrigues and the Agalega Islands.
  • The entire land mass measures less than 800 square miles, which is about 11 times the size of Washington DC.
  • About 1.3 million people lives on the various islands.
  • Port Louis is the capital and largest city with about 150,000 residents.
  • The nation’s highest point is Mont Piton at 2,716 feet.
  • The lowest point is the Indian Ocean, of course.
  • The islands are volcanic in nature and surrounded by reefs, making it a good scuba diving location.  As a diver, that peaks my interest for sure.

So, there are just a few points about Mauritius.  I look forward to learning more about this interesting place.  As I do, you know I will pass it along.  This is now the number one place I want to visit.

If you happen to be one of the people from Mauritius, I would love to hear from you.  Well, I like hearing from everyone that reads my blog, just in this case I am very interested to get to know Mauritius better.  If you have interest in learning more about Mauritius, simply click on the coat of arms, it will take you to their website.

7 comments

  1. Hi Michael, thanks for this post. You are always welcome to visit our paradise island.

    You may perhaps know this famous quote, yet liked to share it with you.

    No wonder Mark Twain said: “You gather that Mauritius was made first, and then heaven; and that heaven was copied after Mauritius”.


    • I can sure understand his feeling that way. I would love to visit. It simply looks wonderful.


  2. […] original here:  To My Friends From the Island Nation of Mauritius « MHBenton's Blog India: Mauritius ready to reveal bank account details under existing treatyAfrica: Mauritius' […]


  3. Never even knew about Mauritius…hopefully it will be one place I can check out one day.


    • It is getting more interesting the more I read.


  4. I’m glad you featured Mauritius. I saw it on my stats yesterday, and didn’t know what, who or where it was. Then comes your post. Thank you!!!


    • I have enjoyed reading about it so far. Really sounds interesting.



Leave a Reply

